A Weenie Life

All things Halloween-ie.

Trunk Or Treat: I Liked It. I Am So Ashamed

So you all probably know how I feel about trunk-or-treat. It’s Halloween watered down, it’s helicopter parenting, it discourages real old-fashioned trick-or-treating, yadda-yadda. (Is that how you spell yadda-yadda? IS there a correct spelling for yadda-yadda?)

But when my little one came home saying he’d been invited to “a Halloween party” and glowing, then handed me a crumpled business card style invitation from Church of the Open Door, what could I do? I mean just look at those eyes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m not a cold-hearted enough bitch to turn THAT down.

So we went. And wow…it was fun! Who knew?

Of course, we’re not doing this instead of trick-or-treating. You can bet dollars to donuts that barring a devastating illness necessitating a hospital stay, we will be out on Thursday night, spooking up the place, grabbing candy and just generally having a great, spooky, silly, indulgent, awesome-good time.

So not to worry, my weenies. Trunk-or-treat will never replace the good old fashioned way to nab free candy…at least not in this household. But in the meantime, let’s hear it for the good folks at Church of the Open Door who hosted an absolutely AMAZING party for the little ones of Glendora. Here are a few pics:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Trunk Or Treat: I Liked It. I Am So Ashamed

  1. Party looked like a lot of fun. I really enjoyed the Halloween car displays.

  2. Yep – the time and effort that went into these displays was amazing. We’re definitely going again next year.

Leave a Reply

